Published On: Thu, Jan 25th, 2018

MS Dhoni, Pankaj Advani Conferred With Padma Bhushan; Complete List

dhoniNew Delhi, Jan 25: Legendary Indian cricketer Mahendra Singh Dhoni has been conferred with Padma Bhushan Award– India’s third highest civilian honour. Billiards players Pankaj Advani has also been named for the honour.Mahendra Singh Dhoni is the most successful Indian cricket captains ever. He led the Indian team to two World Cup wins, a Champion’s Trophy title and the World Number 1 ranking in Tests. Apart from being a great captain, he cemented his position as one of the greatest finishers of the game.

Pankaj Advani is also one of the most dominating figures in world billiards. After the announcement of the award, elated Pankaj Advani said that the award will act as a motivation for him to do better in billiards and snookers.“I’m honoured and humbled to be named for the Padma Bhushan award. This is motivation for me to continue my pursuit for excellence at the world level in billiards and snooker,” Advani said.Ved Prakash Nanda has been conferred with Padma Bhushan for literature and education; Laxman Pai for Painting and Arvind Parikh and Sharda Sinha for music. Here is the full list:

Ved Prakash Nanda – Literature and Education
Laxman Pai – Art (Painting)
Arvind Parikh – Art (Music)
Sharda Sinha – Art (Music)Pankaj Advani – Sport (Billiards/Snooker)
Philipose Mar Chrysostom – Others (Spiritualism)
Mahendra Singh Dhoni – Sports (Cricket)
Alexander Kadakin (Foreigner/Posthumous) – Public Affairs
Ramachandran Nagaswamy – Others (Archaeology)
Here is the list of Padma Shri awardees:

Rajagopalan Vasudevan – Science & Engineering (Innvoation)
Subhasini Mistry – Social work
Vijayalakshmi Navaneethakrishnan – Literature & education (affordable education)
Sulagatti Narasamma – Medicine
Yeshi Dhoden – Medicine
Rani and Abhay Bang – Medicine (Affordable Healthcare)
Lentina Ao Thakkar – Social Work (Service)
Romulus Whitaker – Others (Wildlife Conservation)
Sampat Ramteke – Social Work
Sanduk Ruit – Medicine (Ophthalmology)
Arvind Gupta – Literature & education (affordable education)
Lakshmikutty – Medicine (snake bite)
Bhajju Shyam – Art (Painting – Gond Art)
Sudhanshu Biswas – Social service
MR Rajagopal – Medicine (Palliative Care)
Murlikant Petkar – Sports
Meanwhile, music composer, Ilayaraja, musician Ghulam Mustafa Khan and Parameswaran Parameswaran (Literature & Education) have been conferred with the second highest civilian honour, Padma Vibhushan.The ministry of home affairs conferred Padma Awards to 85 personalities this year. The ministry gave three Padma Vibhushan, nine Padma Bhushan and 73 Padma Shri this year.

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Untitled Album