Published On: Thu, Feb 22nd, 2018

2 AAP MLAs sent to Tihar

Share This

Aam_aadmi_party_logoNew Delhi-Even as the ruling Aam Aadmi Party cried foul over the arrest of two of its MLAs — mentioning them as being from the “Dalit and minority communities” — for allegedly attacking Delhi Chief Secretary Anshu Prakash, Lieutenant Governor Anil Baijal today submitted a report to the Union Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA) in this regard.A senior MHA official said: “The criminal aspects of the case are being taken care of by the Delhi Police, while the ministry is looking into administrative issues like misbehaviour with a government servant.”Based on the report, the official said the ministry “is also looking into the working relations between bureaucrats and the political executive” of the Delhi Government. The official refused to divulge details, but while referring to Home Minister Rajnath Singh’s statement yesterday said “justice will be done”.
Meanwhile, the Delhi Police got a jolt with a city court rejecting its plea for custodial interrogation of arrested AAP MLAs. The two were sent to judicial custody in Tihar Jail till tomorrow, when the court would hear their bail pleas, as the police sought time to reply.
The court said the grounds for judicial custody were justified as there were numerous cases against the accused MLAs.Earlier, a medical report confirmed that the Chief Secretary sustained an injury on the lower lip, had pain in the neck and ears, and mild swelling on the right side of the face.
Rejecting the assault charge, AAP leader Ashutosh said the top bureaucrat had not produced evidence against the MLAs, and yet the two were arrested. AAP MP Sanjay Singh said the police were yet to take action over the assault on Minister Imran Hussain and Delhi Dialogue Commission’s vice-chairman Ashish Khetan at the Delhi Secretariat despite video proof.

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Untitled Album